Thrifting From Home

Standard

Several months ago I began practicing yoga consistently. While at the studio, I met and befriended Megan, Anna, and Erin. It was as if I had known these women my whole life: all gardeners, crafters, compassionate, and all–nearly–my exact clothing size.

Now, wearing the same size isn’t a qualifier to being my friend, but there are definitely benefits. So, over drinks one evening after yoga (yes, we’re that counter-productive),when Erin suggested having a clothing swap, our simultaneous response was “ooooo….YES!”

I had never hosted or been a part of a clothing swap. And I quickly panicked at my lack of “cool” clothes to bring to the party. Anna reassured me that, as long as my clothes weren’t pitted out, then I had stuff to donate. She also said that if they were all pitted but could be retrofitted, I had stuff to donate.

I breathed a sigh of relief.

On Sunday each of these new-found friends brought bags of clothes that lined my couch, living room floors, fireplace mantel, and every doorknob-within-living-room visibility.

We semi-sorted clothes based on their type: pants on the drying rack, dresses on the floor, shoes in the back corner. There were no rules. Just shop as if you were in a thrift-store and take whatever fits and you like. It helped to have Anna dancing around the living room in layers of clothes, looking strangely hipster, to keep us laughing. It also helped to drink mimosas beforehand.

We each left with clothes that were new to us and that cost us nothing. Way better than thrifting. And such a beautiful way to build new friendships and live in community.

P.S. Since this is my second-ever blog post, I hope you all will forgive me for no pictures.

4 responses »

  1. Yay! I wore my new sweater today and got not one but TWO compliments! This should become a quarterly (or at least annual) event.

  2. Way to go Becky! Great idea….the blog AND the clothes swap. What a fun thing to do! Look forward to more postings……

Leave a comment